Gawd help me!


Riffing with a comrade the other day he pointed out that the defining myths of the Judeo/Christian world are all about unquestioning obedience being the ultimate moral good. Suffering from Chronic Rebellion Disorder as I do I am amazed I had never really thought about this but by jiminy he’s right!

The first book of the Bible, the story of Adam & Eve is all about how mankind was condemned to eternal suffering outside the Garden Of Eden because of a single act of disobedience by the first two humans. And what was this heinous crime so deserving of eternal damnation? They ate an apple when their father had told them not to……… Fecking hell, we’re all in the shit on that basis. Big time. I once took my Dad’s car without his permission, what am I going to get for that!!! Some Devil will be sticking a poker up my sorry arse for eternity….. just for that.

Then there’s Abraham and Issac. God told Abraham to kill his own son. What had the son done? Nothing. God just wanted to fuck with Abraham’s mind, see if he would do as he was told. Reminds me of some of the corporate pricks I’ve worked for over the years.

So this God gives us conscience, reason and free will but punishes us when we use them. It really is pretty fucked up, as our American cousins are want to put it.

It’s pretty clear that in this Judeo/Christian world to reason and come to our own moral conclusions is simply not allowed. Makes you think doesn’t it…….? Oh, sugar, there I go again. I must stop that.

Leave a Reply

