I personally hope that little shit Gove ends his days hanging from a lamppost.


I met up with a dear friend of mine on Thursday. She emailed me today asking if I was all right, because I seemed very tense. This was my reply:

“Work has been horrible and I feel shell-shocked, bitter and resentful. And this isn’t ‘my problem’ to do with my character or psychology, it is widely felt by colleagues many of whom have been in tears this week. No, this is political.
The attack on teachers across the education sector led by Gove and Willetts is a disgrace. We are all working 50-70 hour weeks desperately trying to do the best for students in the face of unbelievable managerialist aggression.
All this justified by the Tory idea that we are all lazy bastards who need our arses kicking and that turning students into whining consumers of educational products will somehow improve the world!!
Why the Tories thing making the experience of work miserable for everyone, everywhere, will improve the world is beyond me. We are all workers just as much as we are consumers and being able to borrow money to buy cheap consumer goods in no way compensates for 12 hours a day being humiliated and abused for increasingly less money.
I personally hope that little shit Gove ends his days hanging from a lamppost.”
Let me know if that rings any bells for you.
5 responses to “I personally hope that little shit Gove ends his days hanging from a lamppost.

  1. Gove is slime of the highest order.

  2. Is this a problem in the tertiary education sector? My eldest brother, sister-in-law and godson are career teachers in secondary/primary schools. My youngest son and his partner are currently in training to become secondary school teachers and all of them enjoy good working conditions, remuneration packages (actual and potential) and general overall career satisfaction. I have I missed something here?

    • Are you in the UK? If so then you have missed something big time!! The Tory government have launched an aggressive and unwarranted attack on State education. The Academy system is a route back to Grammar schools and a way to allow private providers into State education. Under the new Ofsted rules there is no ‘satisfactory’ so a school is either good or failing. If failing the Head Teacher is sacked and the school is forced to become an Academy. Suicide amongst Head Teachers is almost epidemic.

  3. Please allow me to offer some amateur philosophical advice: Each of us has been given the priceless privilege of briefly experiencing the universe as cognitive “intelligent” beings. No one’s experience of life has been, or will ever be perfectly satisfying. We must all learn to live with dissatifaction and strive to enjoy life’s free and simple pleasures. At least that should be the game plan. If that doesn’t work then you can always kick the dog.

    • Absolutely true and very nicely put. But would you have said that in 1175 to the revolting subjects of the British Crown living in the British colonies of Philadelphia, Boston and New York. Should they have simply ,”learned to live with their dissatisfaction’?

Leave a Reply

